top of page

Georgia has eNLC on my mind

Updated: Jan 19, 2019

Ever wonder how some nurses obtain licensure in several states so quickly? Well, chances are their home license or where they hold residency is apart of the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC). Some of you are probably wondering what is the eNLC and how can I obtain it? Well, in a nutshell, the eNLC allows licensed registered or practical/vocational nurses to work across several states under one license. Georgia (GA) joined this compact May 2017 allowing nurses to actively practice in other states as of January 2018. According to, "the eNLC is an updated version of the original NLC that allows for registered nurses (RNs) and licensed practical/vocational nurses (LPN/VNs) to have one multi-state license, with the authority to practice in person or via telehealth in both their home state and other eNLC states." I was so excited when I initially heard GA, my home licensure state, had joined the eNLC! Why? Here are my top 3 reasons:

It‘s inexpensive

Yup, I said it! It’s much cheaper to pay under $70 for licensure thst gives you access to work in 20+ states. Last year, when I applied for my CA RN licensure, which is not a eNLC state, it cost me $200. That was just for one state. Being apart of an eNLC cuts down on all of the fees and costs that come with individual state licensure applications.

Crucial during crisis

When natural disaster strikes the more help, the better! With eNLC nurses from neighboring states can join in and help during a crisis or emerency without having to wait for temporary licensure to process.

Low maintenance

With multiple license under one you don’t have to keep up with several different renewal dates. Less stress when it comes to renewing since your one license covers the 20+ others that fall under it.

During the recent renewal of my RN licensure, I had the option of adding on the eNLC to my online application.

This means that once my renewal is processed I will be able to practice in the following member compact states under my GA RN license:

Florida, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Arizona, Arkansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Wyoming, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Oklahoma as a member of the eNLC.

Click here for an interactive map display of NLC states and also NLC states that will soon be implemented. To learn more about GA eNLC and other compact state licensure guidelines, click here.

Do you have a nursing compact license?

199 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page